Laurie Lico Albanese


Laurie Lico Albanese is the author of three books; Blue Suburbia: Almost a Memoir, Lynelle By The Sea, and The Miracles of Prato. There are several countries where she's been published. Her travel and general-interest pieces have appeared in the New York Times, the Chicago Tribune, Mothering, Coastal Living and many other periodicals.

Her latest book, Stolen Beauty is now out with Atria Books (2017).

Praise for Stolen Beauty

“[W]ith her opening sentence Albanese draws readers into a world of glamour, art, intrigue, power and fear. . . . In this complex and utterly readable novel, historical characters are brought to life against the setting of a city on the verge of artistic greatness and societal collapse.”
— STARRED, Library Journal

"Stolen Beauty is a work of art itself." 
— Wall Street Journal

"It is a testament to Albanese’s skills as a storyteller that a familiar story gains new power in her telling."
USA Today

"Best read with a tablet or computer handy to study the paintings, Albanese’s novel will appeal to readers interested in such themes as love, self-discovery, and women’s empowerment and to fans of the historical, art-based fiction of Susan Vreeland and Tracy Chevalier.”
— Booklist

"Fans of romantic suspense with an art historical bent will appreciate the vigor of Albanese's reimagining of the family saga behind the masterpiece long regarded as Vienna's Mona Lisa."
— Kirkus

“This sensual and mesmerizing novel brings to vivid life Gustav Klimt and his greatest muse and model, Adele Bloch-Bauer. For fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Paula McLain’s Circling the Sun, Stolen Beauty is a must-read. I tore through the pages.”
— Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train

“Laurie Lico Albanese has given us a powerful and important tale of love and war, art and family. Filled with lush prose and vivid historical detail, Stolen Beauty is a work simultaneously intimate and sweeping in its scope. I was transported.”
— Allison Pataki, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Sisi: Empress on Her Own

“Courage and beauty are the banners waving over the double heroines of this truth-telling novel. Like the paintings of Klimt, Stolen Beauty both glitters and darkens in its presentation of vibrant life and dreadful death.”
— Sena Jeter Naslund, author of Ahab’s Wife and Abundance: A Novel of Marie Antoinette

lauriealbanese.jpg